Montana State University

Department of Land Resources and Environmental Sciences

Montana State University
P.O. Box 173120
Bozeman, MT 59717-3120

Tel: (406) 994-7060
Fax: (406) 994-3933
Location: 334 Leon Johnson Hall

Academic Programs:

Tel: (406) 994-3090
E-mail: lresinfo@montana.edu

Department Head:

Dr. Tracy M. Sterling

LRES Graduate Students

Graduate Programs | Prospective Graduate Students | Course Descriptions | Current Graduate Students | Graduate Student Awards

Subodh Adhikari
Ph.D. ESEC
Advisors: Fabian Menalled & Laura Burkle
subodh.adhikari@msu.montana.edu
Research Area: Impacts of different management systems on North American dry land agro-ecosystems services
Abdullah Alowaifeer
Ph.D. ESEC
Advisor: Tim McDermott
vet.abdullah@gmail.com
Research Area: TBA
Byron Amerson
Ph.D. ESEC
Advisor: Geoffrey Poole
byron.amerson@gmail.com
Research Area: A multi-scale evaluation of the rate and magnitude of water exchange between surface flow and the alluvial aquifer in restored and unrestored river channels
Jason Baldes
M.S. LRES
Advisors: Cliff Montagne/Rick Lawrence jason.baldes@gmail.com
Research Area: Cultural Plant Biodiversity in Relic Buffalo Wallows of the Wind River Indian Reservation, Wyoming
Sarina Bao
M.S. LRES
Advisors: Cliff Montagne & Lisa Rew sarinabao123@gmail.com
Research Area: Patch dynamics in arid grazed ecosystems
Thomas "Tommy" Bass
Ph.D. ESEC
Advisor: Bruce Maxwell
tmbass@montana.edu
Research Area: Considerations of ecological and social interactions in food system development, scale, diversity, management, and vulnerability
Jacob Beam
Ph.D. ESEC
Advisor: Bill Inskeep
jprbeam@gmail.com
Research Area: Distribution, Diversity, and Physiology of Novel Archaea that Inhabit Acidic Geothermal Environments

Mike Bestwick
M.S. LRES
Advisor: Rick Engel & Chenci Chen
michael.bestwick@msu.montana.edu
Research Area: Investigating the effects of crop water use efficiency in relation to nitrate leaching in Central Montana
Christopher Brown
Ph.D. ESEC
Advisor: Bob Peterson
christopher.brown20@msu.montana.edu
Research Area: Non-target arthropod ecological risk assessment of genetically modified crops
Sam Carlson
M.S. LRES
Advisor: Geoff Poole
sam.p.carlson@gmail.com
Research Area: Application of inverse modelling to explore and scale stream nutrient retention and productivity dynamics as related to channel geomorphology
Patrick Della Croce
Ph.D. ESEC
Advisor: Geoffrey Poole
patrick.dellacroce@gmx.ch
Research Area: Systems analysis of introgressive hybridization between Yellowstone cutthroat trout and rainbow trout: assessing crossing, fitness, and landscape connectivity as drivers of genetic structure in hybridized native cutthroat trout populations

Krista Ehlert Krista Ehlert
Ph.D. ESEC
Advisor: Jane Mangold & Fabian Menalled
krista.ehlert@msu.montana.edu
Research Area: Optimizing efficacy of cheatgrass biocontrol in crops and rangelands: integration and implementation
Alex Gaffke
M.S. Entomology
Advisor: David Weaver
alexander.gaffke@gmail.com
Research Area: Adapting existing semiochemical delivery technologies to improve the precision of weed biocontrol agents

Liza Harris
M.S. LRES
Advisor: Paul Stoy elizabeth.sk.harris@gmail.com

Research Area: The use of eddy covariance to measure evapotranspiration from wheat and fallow fields in the Judith Basin, Montana
Charles Holt
M.S. LRES
Advisor: Fabian Menalled
charles.holt@montana.edu
Research Area: Knowledge, Skills and Abilities for developing sustainable farming systems related to community food systems
Megan Housman
M.S. LRES
Advisor: Cathy Zabinski
meganhousman@gmail.com
Research Area: TBA
Zackary Jay
Ph.D. ESEC
Advisor: Bill Inskeep
zackary.jay@msu.montana.edu
Research Area: TBA
no image Ryan Jennings
Ph.D. ESEC
Advisor: Bill Inskeep
rdemjennings@gmail.com
Research Area: Pathways for carbon fixation in thermophilic Archaea and the role of autotrophic Crenarchaeotes across varying habits in Yellowstone National Park
no image Andrew John
M.S. Land Rehabilitation
Advisor: Clain Jones
andrewj0256@gmail.com
Research Area: Studying nitrate leaching and agricultural best management practices in the Judith River Basin
Aiden Johnson
M.S. LRES
Advisor: Paul Stoy
johnson.aiden@ymail.com
Research Area: Remote Sensing analysis methods for improved ecosystem modeling

Stephen Johnson
M.S. LRES
Advisors: Fabian Menalled & Perry Miller
stephen.johnson11@msu.montana.edu

Research Area: Plant-soil feedbacks, methods of cover crop termination, integrated crop-livestock systems, and weed-crop dynamics in organic and conventional dryland agroecosystems
Priyanka Kudalkar
M.S. LRES
Advisor: John Priscu
priyanka.kudalkar@msu.montana.edu
Research Area: Studying life in extreme environments, specifically microbes in Antarctic ice
Christian Larson
M.S. LRES
Advisor: Lisa Rew
utah131@gmail.com
Research Area: TBA
Patrick Lawrence
Ph.D. ESEC
Advisor: Bruce Maxwell
plawrence@gmail.com
Research Area: Integrated analysis and optimization of a dryland wheat agroecosystem
Lisa Lone Fight
M.S. LRES
Advisor: Rick Lawrence
lisalonefight@gmail.com
Research Area: Researching the intersections of Remote Sensing and the needs of Native American Nations/Reservations
no image Alexander Michaud
Ph.D. ESEC
Advisor: Priscu
a.b.michaud@gmail.com
Research Area: Exploring microbial ecology of novel and extreme habits, with an emphasis in cold regions, to help understand processes that microbes use in order to sustain life
Fabian Nippgen
Ph.D. ESEC
Advisors: Brian McGlynn & Lucy Marshall
fabian.nippgen@msu.montana.edu
Research Area: Relating catchment structure to hydrologic response
Edward Olexa
Ph.D. ESEC
Advisor: Rick Lawrence
eolexa@montana.edu
Research Area: Linking Elk Spatial Ecology and Public Lands Management in Southwest Wyoming Using a Dense Time Series of Satellite Imagery
Millie Olsen
M.S. LRES
Advisor: Dave Ward
millie.thornton@msu.montana.edu
Research Area: Comparative Genome Analysis and Cultivation of Hot Springs Cyanobacteria

Arjun Pandey
Ph.D. ESEC
Advisors: Rick Lawrence & Olga Walsh
arjun.pandey@msu.montana.edu

Research Area: TBA
Collin Preftakes
Ph.D ESEC
Advisor: Bob Peterson
collin.preftakes@msu.montana.edu
Research Area: Researching aspects of pesticide drift, environmental fate of pesticides, drift reduction technologies, exposure assessment, and ecological risk assessment

Nar Ranabhat
Ph.D ESEC
Advisor: Fabian Menalled
oranabhat@gmail.com

Research Area: Impact of agricultural practices on plant disease management in dry land crops in Montana: wheat curl mite transmission of wheat streak mosaic virus, and fungal pathogens of wheat and pulse crops
Carlos Romero
M.S. LRES
Advisors: Rick Engel & Chency Chen
carlos.romero2@msu.montana.edu
Research Area: Interactive effects of tillage, crop rotation, and N source on soil N dynamics, plant uptake and soil quality/resilience related indicators in agroecosystems of central Montana
Deicy Sanchez-Espinoza
M.S. LRES
Advisor: Tony Hartshorn
deicysanchez@gmail.com
Research Area: Mine Reclamation
Pamela Santibáñez-Ávila
Ph.D. ESEC
Advisor: John Priscu
pamela.santibanez@msu.montana.edu
Research Area: Microbial Characterization of Polar Ice Cores Emphasizing Changes between Last Glacial Maximum and the Early Holocene
Aaron Scott-Klingborg
M.S. LRES
Advisor: Jack Brookshire
aaronkli@gmail.com
Research Area: TBA
Adam Sigler
Ph.D. ESEC
Advisor: Stephanie Ewing
asigler@montana.edu
Research Area: Science and outreach to address elevated nitrate in shallow groundwater of the Judith River Watershed
image not available Heidi Smith
Ph.D. ESEC
Advisor: Christine Foreman
heidi.smith@msu.montana.edu
Research Area: The role of microbes in microbial synthesis and transformation of dissolved organic matter in glacial environments
Lora Soderquist
M.S. LRES
Advisors: Clff Montagne & Tracy Sterling
lsoderquist@hotmail.com
Research Area: Role of Local Knowledge to Raise Awareness of Invasive Species Management Techniques for Greater Yellowstone Ecosystem Grasslands
John Sugden
M.S. LRES
Advisor: Tony Hartshorn
john.sugden@msu.montana.edu
Research Area: Slicing and dicing Gallatin Valley soils: The pitfalls of climo-, litho-, and pyrosequences
Angela Tang Che Ing
Ph.D. ESEC
Advisor: Paul Stoy
angela.tang@msu.montana.edu
atchiemac@gmail.com
Research Area: Eddy covariance measurements of carbon and energy fluxes from a tropical peat swamp forest in Sarawak, Malaysia
Kimberley Taylor
Ph.D. ESEC
Advisors: Lisa Rew & Bruce Maxwell
kimberleytaylor7@gmail.com
Research Area: Lodgepole pine invasions: drivers and feedbacks
Tristy Vick-Majors
Ph. D. ESEC
Advisor: John Priscu
tristyv@gmail.com
Research Area: Microbial processes and nutrient cycling in sub-glacial environments
Jason Wood
Ph.D. ESEC
Advisor: Dave Ward
jason.wood@msu.montana.edu
Research Area: Metabolic modeling of an alkaline siliceous hot spring microbial mat community

Top of Page