Montana State University

Department of Land Resources and Environmental Sciences

Montana State University
P.O. Box 173120
Bozeman, MT 59717-3120

Tel: (406) 994-7060
Fax: (406) 994-3933
Location: 334 Leon Johnson Hall

Academic Programs:

Tel: (406) 994-3090
E-mail: lresinfo@montana.edu

Department Head:

Dr. Tracy M. Sterling

LRES Graduate Students

Graduate Programs | Prospective Graduate Students | Course Descriptions | Current Graduate Students | Graduate Student Awards

Subodh Adhikari
Ph.D. ESEC
subodh.adhikari@msu.montana.edu
Advisor: Fabian Menalled & Laura Burkle
Research Area: Impacts of different management systems on North American dry land agro-ecosystems services
Byron Amerson
Ph.D. ESEC
byron.amerson@msu.montana.edu
Advisor: Geoffrey Poole
Research Area: A multi-scale evaluation of the rate and magnitude of water exchange between surface flow and the alluvial aquifer in restored and unrestored river channels
Jason Baldes
M.S. LRES
Advisor: Cliff Montagne/Rick Lawrence jason.baldes@gmail.com
Research Area: Cultural Plant Biodiversity in Relic Buffalo Wallows of the Wind River Indian Reservation, Wyoming
Sarina Bao
M.S. LRES
Advisor: Cliff Montagne & Lisa Rew sarinabao123@gmail.com
Research Area: Patch dynamics in arid grazed ecosystems
Thomas "Tommy" Bass
Ph.D. ESEC
Advisor: Bruce Maxwell
tmbass@montana.edu
Research Area: Considerations of ecological and social interactions in food system development, scale, diversity, management, and vulnerability
Jacob Beam
Ph.D. ESEC
Advisor: Bill Inskeep
jacob.beam@msu.montana.edu
Research Area: Distribution, Diversity, and Physiology of Novel Archaea that Inhabit Acidic Geothermal Environments
Eric Becraft
Ph.D. ESEC
Advisor: David Ward
eric.becraft@msu.montana.edu
Research Area: Do Microbial Ecotypes Predicted from Theory-Based Analysis of Molecular Data Exhibit Unique Patterns of Distribution?
Hally Berg
M.S. Land Rehabilitation
Advisor: Jane Mangold
hallykb@gmail.com
Research Area: Increase knowledge about the biology, ecology and integrated management of tall buttercup, a poorly understood species on the Montana noxious weed list.

Mike Bestwick
M.S. LRES
Advisor: Rick Engel & Chenci Chen
michael.bestwick@msu.montana.edu
Research Area: Investigating the effects of crop water use efficiency in relation to nitrate leaching in Central Montana
Jennifer Bodin
M.S. Entomology
Advisor: Robert Peterson
jbodin2@gmail.com
Research Area: Determining environmental factors which most influence efficacy when adulticiding for mosquitoes
Christopher Brown
Ph.D. ESEC
Advisor: Bob Peterson
christopher.brown20@msu.montana.edu
Research Area: Non-target arthropod ecological risk assessment of genetically modified crops
Jason Brown
M.S. LRES
Advisor: Lucy Marshall
eldsverk@gmail.com
Research Area: Watershed Modeling
Sam Carlson
M.S. LRES
Advisor: Geoff Poole
sam.p.carlson@gmail.com
Research Area: Application of inverse modelling to explore and scale stream nutrient retention and productivity dynamics as related to channel geomorphology
Heidi Clark
M.S. Land Rehabilitation
Advisor: Duncan Patten and Bill Wyckoff
clark.hm@gmail.com
Research Area: Using rephotography to understand the effects of historic resource extraction on rivers in the Greater Yellowstone Region
Patrick Della Croce
Ph.D. ESEC
Advisor: Geoffrey Poole
patrick.dellacroce@msu.montana.edu
Research Area: Systems analysis of introgressive hybridization between Yellowstone cutthroat trout and rainbow trout: assessing crossing, fitness, and landscape connectivity as drivers of genetic structure in hybridized native cutthroat trout populations

Badamgarav Dovchin
M.S. LRES
Advisor: Cliff Montagne & Cathy Zabinski
badmaagi@gmail.com
Research Area: Restoration Ecology and National Park Managements

Krista Ehlert Krista Ehlert
Ph.D. ESEC
Advisor: Jane Mangold & Fabian Menalled
krista.ehlert@msu.montana.edu
Research Area: Optimizing efficacy of cheatgrass biocontrol in crops and rangelands: integration and implementation
Alex Gaffke
M.S. Entomology
Advisor: David Weaver
alexander.gaffke@gmail.com
Research Area: Adapting existing semiochemical delivery technologies to improve the precision of weed biocontrol agents

Liza Harris
M.S. LRES
Advisor: Paul Stoy elizabeth.sk.harris@gmail.com

Research Area: The use of eddy covariance to measure evapotranspiration from wheat and fallow fields in the Judith Basin, Montana
Christina Herron-Sweet
M.S. LRES
Advisor: Jane Mangold
c.herronsweet@gmail.com
Research Area: Multi-trophic interactions between spotted knapweed and insects
Charles Holt
M.S. LRES
Advisor: Fabian Menalled
charles.holt@montana.edu
Research Area: Knowledge, Skills and Abilities for developing sustainable farming systems related to community food systems
Megan Housman
M.S. LRES
Advisor: Cathy Zabinski
meganhousman@gmail.com
Research Area: TBA
Eli Hubbard
M.S. Entomology
Advisor: Weaver
charles.hubbard1@msu.montana.edu
Research Area: TBA
Zackary Jay
Ph.D. ESEC
Advisor: Bill Inskeep
zackary.jay@msu.montana.edu
Research Area: TBA
no image Ryan Jennings
Ph.D. ESEC
Advisor: Bill Inskeep
ryan.jennings1@msu.montana.edu
Research Area: Pathways for carbon fixation in thermophilic Archaea and the role of autotrophic Crenarchaeotes across varying habits in Yellowstone National Park
no image Andrew John
M.S. Land Rehabilitation
Advisor: Clain Jones
andrewj0256@gmail.com
Research Area: Studying nitrate leaching and agricultural best management practices in the Judith River Basin
Aiden Johnson
Ph.D. ESEC
Advisor: Paul Stoy
johnson.aiden@ymail.com
Research Area: Remote Sensing analysis methods for improved ecosystem modeling

Stephen Johnson
M.S. LRES
Advisors: Fabian Menalled & Perry Miller
stephen.johnson11@msu.montana.edu

Research Area: Plant-soil feedbacks, methods of cover crop termination, integrated crop-livestock systems, and weed-crop dynamics in organic and conventional dryland agroecosystems
Lisa Kirk
Ph.D. LRES
Advisor: Brent Peyton
lisa.kirk@msu.montana.edu
Research Area: In-situ Subsurface Microbial Transformation of Selenium as Source Control in Backfilled Phosphate Overburden, SE Idaho
Evelyn Konigsberg
M.S. LRES
Advisor: Jeff Littlefield
evelyn.konigsberg@msu.montana.edu
Research Area: TBA
Priyanka Kudalkar
M.S. LRES
Advisor: John Priscu
priyanka.kudalkar@msu.montana.edu
Research Area: Studying life in extreme environments, specifically microbes in Antarctic ice
Christian Larson
M.S. LRES
Advisor: Lisa Rew
utah131@gmail.com
Research Area: TBA
Patrick Lawrence
Ph.D. ESEC
Advisor: Bruce Maxwell
patrick.lawrence@msu.montana.edu
Research Area: Integrated analysis and optimization of a dryland wheat agroecosystem
Ronald Lodge Pole
M.S. LRES
Advisor: Cliff Montagne & Bob Peterson
Ronald.lodgepole@msu.montana.edu
Research Area: Risk of Native Trout Mortality and Morbidity Due to Increased Stream Temperatures on the Fort Hall Indian Reservation, Idaho
Lisa Lone Fight
M.S. LRES
Advisor: Rick Lawrence
lisa.lonefight@msu.montana.edu
Research Area: Researching the intersections of Remote Sensing and the needs of Native American Nations/Reservations
John Long
PhD ESEC
Advisor: Rick Lawerence
jlongb52@aol.com
Research Area: Spatial and temporal modeling of remote sensing data
Sean McKenzie
M.S. Land Rehabilitation
Advisor: Fabian Menalled & Kevin O'Neill
smckenzie1986@gmail.com
Research Area: Grazing Away: How does sheep grazing for cover crop termination affect plant community structure and carabid beetle community structure?
no image Alexander Michaud
Ph.D. ESEC
Advisor: Priscu
alexander.michaud@msu.montana.edu
Research Area: Exploring microbial ecology of novel and extreme habits, with an emphasis in cold regions, to help understand processes that microbes use in order to sustain life
n Karin Neff
Ph. D. ESEC
Advisor: Bruce Maxwell & Cathy Zabinski
karin.neff@msu.montana.edu
Research Area: Investigating the relationship between soil organic matter and vegetable antioxidants in sustainable agricultural systems
Fabian Nippgen
Ph.D. ESEC
Advisor:Brian McGlynn & Lucy Marshall
fabian.nippgen@msu.montana.edu
Research Area: Relating catchment structure to hydrologic response
Edward Olexa
Ph.D. ESEC
Advisor: Rick Lawrence
edward.olexa@msu.montana.edu
Research Area: Linking Elk Spatial Ecology and Public Lands Management in Southwest Wyoming Using a Dense Time Series of Satellite Imagery
Millie Olsen
M.S. LRES
Advisor: Dave Ward
millie.thornton@msu.montana.edu
Research Area: Comparative Genome Analysis and Cultivation of Hot Springs Cyanobacteria

Arjun Pandey
Ph.D. ESEC
Advisor: Rick Lawrence & Olga Walsh
arjun.pandey@msu.montana.edu

Research Area: TBA
Collin Preftakes
Ph.D ESEC
Advisor: Bob Peterson
cjpreftakes@gmail.com
Research Area: Researching aspects of pesticide drift, environmental fate of pesticides, drift reduction technologies, exposure assessment, and ecological risk assessment

Nar Ranabhat
Ph.D ESEC
Advisor: Fabian Menalled
nar.ranabhat@msu.montana.edu

Research Area: Impact of agricultural practices on plant disease management in dry land crops in Montana: wheat curl mite transmission of wheat streak mosaic virus, and fungal pathogens of wheat and pulse crops
Carlos Romero
M.S. LRES
Advisor: Rick Engel & Chency Chen
carlos.romero2@msu.montana.edu
Research Area: TBA
Deicy Sanchez-Espinoza
M.S. LRES
Advisor: Tony Hartshorn
deicysanchez@gmail.com
Research Area: Mine Reclamation
Pamela Santibáñez-Ávila
Ph.D. ESEC
Advisor: John Priscu
pamela.santibanez@msu.montana.edu
Research Area: Microbial Characterization of Polar Ice Cores Emphasizing Changes between Last Glacial Maximum and the Early Holocene
Aaron Scott-Klingborg
M.S. LRES
Advisor: Jack Brookshire
aaronkli@gmail.com
Research Area: TBA
Adam Sigler
Ph.D. ESEC
Advisor: Stephanie Ewing
asigler@montana.edu
Research Area: Science and outreach to address elevated nitrate in shallow groundwater of the Judith River Watershed
image not available Heidi Smith
Ph.D. ESEC
Advisor: Christine Foreman
heidi.smith@msu.montana.edu
Research Area: The role of microbes in microbial synthesis and transformation of dissolved organic matter in glacial environments
Lora Soderquist
M.S. LRES
Advisor: Clff Montagne & Tracy Sterling
lsoderquist@hotmail.com
Research Area: Role of Local Knowledge to Raise Awareness of Invasive Species Management Techniques for Greater Yellowstone Ecosystem Grasslands
John Sugden
M.S. LRES
Advisor: Tony Hartshorn
sugden82@yahoo.com
Research Area: Slicing and dicing Gallatin Valley soils: The pitfalls of climo-, litho-, and pyrosequences
Susan Tallman
M.S. LRES
Advisor: Perry Miller & Catherine Zabinski
susan.tallman@msu.montana.edu
Research Area: Using multi-species cover crops to improve no-till soil quality in a wheat-fallow rotation
Angela Tang
Ph.D. ESEC
Advisor: Paul Stoy
angela.tang@msu.montana.edu
Research Area: TBA
Kimberley Taylor
Ph.D. ESEC
Advisor: Lisa Rew & Bruce Maxwell
kimberleytaylor7@gmail.com
Research Area: Lodgepole pine invasions: drivers and feedbacks
Tristy Vick-Majors
Ph. D. ESEC
Advisor: John Priscu
trista.vick@msu.montana.edu
Research Area: Microbial processes and nutrient cycling in sub-glacial environments
Tristany Wagner
M.S. LRES
Advisor: Robert Peterson & Jackson Gross
TristanyLWagner@aol.com
Research Area: The effects of seismic exploration technology on different size classes of Rainbow trout
Shavonn Reezale Whiten
M.S. Entomology
Advisor: Bob Peterson
swhiten2010@gmail.com
Research Area: How does temperature influence the susceptibility of mosquitoes to pyrethroid insecticides?
Jason Wood
Ph.D. ESEC
Advisor: Dave Ward
jason.wood@msu.montana.edu
Research Area: Metabolic modeling of an alkaline siliceous hot spring microbial mat community

Top of Page