Buddhi Achhami

Buddhi Achhami

Ph.D. Ecology & Environmental Sciences

Advisor: David Weaver

Co-Advisor: Dr. Gadi V.P. Reddy

buddhi.achhami@msu.montana.edu

Research Area: Causes of mortality and potential mechanisms of host plant resistance to the wheat stem sawfly in barley in Montana

Subodh Adhikari

Subodh Adhikari

Ph.D. Ecology & Environmental Sciences

Advisors: Fabian Menalled & Laura Burkle
subodh.adhikari@msu.montana.edu

Research Area: Impacts of different management systems on North American dry land agro-ecosystems services

Abdullah Alowaifeer

Abdullah Alowaifeer

Ph.D. Ecology & Environmental Sciences

Advisors: Tim McDermott & Anne Camper
vet.abdullah@gmail.com

Research Area: Examining arsenic and mercury accumulation in a natural aquatic ecosystem.  Using Yellowstone Lake as a study model for this research.  In addition to trying to understand the biochemical basis for arsenic bioaccumulation.

Byron Amerson

Byron Amerson

Ph.D. Ecology & Environmental Sciences

Advisor: Geoffrey Poole
byron.amerson@gmail.com

Research Area: A multi-scale evaluation of the rate and magnitude of water exchange between surface flow and the alluvial aquifer in restored and unrestored river channels

Tommy Bass

Thomas "Tommy" Bass

Ph.D. Ecology & Environmental Sciences

Advisor: Bruce Maxwell
tmbass@montana.edu

Research Area: Considerations of ecological and social interactions in food system development, scale, diversity, management, and vulnerability

Photo of Andy Bobst in office

Andrew Bobst

Ph.D. Ecology & Environmental Sciences

Advisor: Rob Payn
albobst@hotmail.com 

Research Area: Using Beaver Mimicry Stream Restoration as manipulative experiments to better understand groundwater/surface-water interactions, and transient water storage in floodplains.

Keenan Brame

Keenan Brame

Ph.D. Ecology & Environmental Sciences

Advisors: Tim McDermott & Anne Camper
kbrame3@gmail.com

Research Area: Freshwater quality on the Little Bighorn River involving microbial pathogens, their mode of transport through a freshwater system and their anticipated impacts on water quality due to climate change projections.

blank

Gabriel Bromley

Ph.D. Ecology & Environmental Sciences
Christopher Brown

Christopher Brown

Ph.D. Ecology & Environmental Sciences

Advisor: Bob Peterson
christopher.brown20@msu.montana.edu

Research Area: Non-target arthropod ecological risk assessment of genetically modified crops

Sam Carlson

Sam Carlson

Ph.D. Ecology & Environmental Sciences

Advisor: Geoffrey Poole
sam.p.carlson@gmail.com

Research Area: Application of inverse modelling to explore and scale stream nutrient retention and productivity dynamics as related to channel geomorphology

blank

Adam Cook

Ph.D. Ecology & Environmental Sciences

Advisor: Amy Trowbridge
cook82291@gmail.com

bryce

Bryce Currey

Ph.D. Ecology & Environmental Sciences

Advisor: Jack Brookshire
brycecurrey93@gmail.com

Research Area: TBA

Dillard

Shannon Dillard

M.S. Land Resources & Environmental Sciences

Advisor: Tony Hartshorn
shannon.dillard@msu.montana.edu 

Research Area: Soil water holding capacity and soil nutrient analyses as they relate to arid grassland restoration of an invaded landscape in Yellowstone National Park. 

Donahoo

Claire Donahoo

M.S. Entomology

Advisor: Bob Peterson
claire31589@gmail.com

Research Area: TBA

No photo available

Badamgarav Dovchin

Ph.D. Ecology & Environmental Sciences

Advisor: Tony Hartshorn
badmaagi@gmail.com

Research Area: TBA

Krista Ehlert

Krista Ehlert

Ph.D. Ecology & Environmental Sciences

Advisors: Jane Mangold & Fabian Menalled
krista.ehlert@msu.montana.edu

Research Area: Optimizing efficacy of cheatgrass biocontrol in crops and rangelands: integration and implementation

Fischer

Ben Fischer

M.S. Entomology

Advisor: David Weaver
ben.fisher9@gmail.com

Research Area: Effects of border crops on parasitic wasps (Bracon cephi and lissogaster) and whether flowering pulse and cover crops grown adjacent to wheat provide an alternative food source. 

Fogg

S. Katie Fogg

M.S. Land Resources & Environmental Sciences

Advisor: Geoffrey Poole
s.katie.fogg@gmail.com

Research Area: Simulating hyporheic influences on stream channel temperature

Alex Gaffke

Alex Gaffke

Ph.D. Ecology & Environmental Sciences

Advisor: David Weaver
alexander.gaffke@gmail.com

Research Area: Adapting existing semiochemical delivery technologies to improve the precision of weed biocontrol agents

blank

Audrey Harvey

M.S. Land Resources & Environmental Sciences

Advisor: Jane Mangold
audrey.harvey@msu.montana.edu

Christian Larson

Christian Larson

M.S. Land Resources & Environmental Sciences

Advisor: Lisa Rew
utah131@gmail.com

Research Area: Impacts of temperature, precipitation, and prescribed burning on the abundance and role of Bromus tectorum within a Montana sagebrush-steppe community. 

blank

Miranda Margetts

Ph.D. Ecology & Environmental Sciences

Advisors: Bob Peterson & Deborah Keil
miranda.margetts@msu.montana.edu

Research Area: Risk assessment regarding environmental hazards and human health outcomes.

blank

Florence Miller

M.S. Land Resources & Environmental Sciences

Advisor: Stephanie Ewing
florencemiller25@gmail.com

Morgan

Mallory Morgan

M.S. Land Resources & Environmental Sciences

Advisor: Paul Stoy
mallorymaynesmorgan@gmail.com

Morin

Mikindra Morin

M.S. Land Resources & Environmental Sciences

Advisor: Rick Lawrence
mikindra.morin@gmail.com

Research Area: Remote sensing of changes in vegetation stress as a tool for monitoring large-scale carbon sequestration areas. 

No photo available

Madison Nixon

M.S. Land Resources & Environmental Sciences

Advisor: Fabian Menalled
madison.nixon7@gmail.com

Research Area: TBA 

No photo available

Michael Oldham

M.S. Land Resources & Environmental Sciences

Advisor: Scott Powell
michaeljolham@gmail.com

Research Area: TBA 

Jeff Patriarche

Jeff Patriarche

M.S. Land Resources & Environmental Sciences

Advisor: John Priscu
j.patriarche@gmail.com

Research Area: Long-term dynamics in phytoplankton communities in the frozen lakes of the McMurdo Dry Valleys, Antarctica.

No photo available

Alyssa Piccolomini

M.S. Entomology 

Advisor: Bob Peterson
alyssa.piccolomini@montana.edu

Research Area: TBA 

Emily Pierson

Emily Pierson

M.S. Land Rehabilitation

Advisors: Lisa Rew & Matt Rinella
empierson11@gmail.com

Research Area: Mine reclamation and restoration of grassland communities

Collin Preftakes

Collin Preftakes

Ph.D. Ecology & Environmental Sciences

Advisor: Bob Peterson
collin.preftakes@msu.montana.edu

Research Area: Researching aspects of pesticide dirt, environmental fate of pesticides, drift reduction technologies, exposure assessment, and ecological risk assessment

Nar Ranabhat

Nar Ranabhat

M.S. Land Resources & Environmental Sciences

Advisor: Fabian Menalled & Mary Burrows
oranabhat@gmail.com

Research Area: The effect of agronomic practices on disease management in Montana cropping system.

Reis

Dayane Reis

M.S. Entomology 

Advisor: David Weaver
dayane.reis@msu.montana.edu

Research Area: Investigating the non-prey food effects in the Wheat Stem Sawfly parasitoids reproductive capacity

blank

Scott Robinson

Ph.D. Ecology & Environmental Sciences

Advisor: Anthony S. Hartshorn
sbrobins@mtu.edu

Carlos Romero

Carlos Romero

Ph.D. Ecology & Environmental Sciences

Advisors: Rick Engel & Chency Chen
carlos.romero2@msu.montana.edu

Research Area: Interactive effects of tillage, crop rotation, and N source on soil N dynamics, plant uptake, and soil quality/resilience related indicators in agroecosystems of central Montana

blank

Kimberly Roush

M.S. Land Resources & Environmental Sciences

Advisor: John Priscu
kimberlyaroush@gmail.com

No photo available

Tara Saley

M.S. Land Resources & Environmental Sciences

Advisor: Tim McDermott & Brian Bothner

tara.saley@msu.montana.edu

Research Area: Bacterial cell's response to arsenic exposure with the use of RNA extraction, sequencing, and analysis.

ScottT

Tessa Scott

M.S. Land Resources & Environmental Sciences

Advisors: Fabian Menalled & Z. Miller

tessa.scott@msu.montana.edu

Research Area: Determining weed community shifts in organic and conventional crop rotations at Ft. Ellis, and understanding Convolvulus arvensis plant soil feedback and competition parameters within organic small-grain cropping systems. 

Adam Sigler

Adam Sigler

Ph.D. Ecology & Environmental Sciences

Advisor: Stephanie Ewing
asigler@montana.edu

Research Area: Science and outreach to address elevated nitrate in shallow groundwater of the Judith River Watershed

Lora Soderquist

Lora Soderquist

M.S. Land Resources & Environmental Sciences

Advisors: Tracy Sterling & Cliff Montagne
lsoderquist@hotmail.com

Research Area: Role of local knowledge to raise awareness of invasive species management techniques for Greater Yellowstone ecosystem grasslands

Photograph of Meryl Storb in ski gear

Meryl Storb

Ph.D. Ecology & Environmental Sciences

Advisor: Rob Payn
meryl.storb@gmail.com

Research Area: Watershed hydrology stream ecosystem interaction.

Angela Tan Che Ing

Angela Tang Che Ing

Ph.D. Ecology & Environmental Sciences

Advisor: Paul Stoy
angela.tan@msu.montana.edu
atchiemac@gmail.com

Research Area: Eddy covariance measurements of carbon and energy fluxes from a tropical peat swamp forest in Sarawak, Malaysia

blank

Emery Three Irons

M.S Land Resources & Environmental Sciences

Advisor: Scott Powell
bad_war_deed@outlook.com

No photo available

Samuel Tittle

M.S. Land Resources & Environmental Sciences

Advisor: Rick Lawrence

samt@everythigredwing.com

Research Area: TBA

Bo Walker

Bo Walker

M.S. Land Resources & Environmental Sciences

Advisor: Perry Miller
robert.walker5@msu.montana.edu

Research Area: Cover Crop Grazing: Optimizing Seasonality for Optimal Soil and Livestock Benefit

No photo available

Madelyne Willis

Ph.D. Ecology & Environmental Sciences

Advisor: John Priscu

madie.willis@gmail.com

Research Area: TBA

blank

Ethan Wologo

M.S. Land Resources & Environmental Sciences

Advisor: Stephanie Ewing
ethan.wologo@msu.montana.edu

David Wood

David Wood

Ph.D. Ecology & Environmental Sciences

Advisor: Paul Stoy
david.wood8@student.montana.edu

Research Area: Temporal and geographic trends in ecosystem condition from multiscale assessments of Eastern Montana grasslands and shrub steppes