Abebe

Abaye Abebe

Ph.D. Ecology & Environmental Sciences

Advisor: Rob Payn
abayeabebe@gmail.com

Research Area: Hydrological analysis and modeling in an Earth System Modeling framework.

Byron Amerson

Byron Amerson

Ph.D. Ecology & Environmental Sciences

Advisor: Geoffrey Poole
byron.amerson@gmail.com

Research Area: A multi-scale evaluation of the rate and magnitude of water exchange between surface flow and the alluvial aquifer in restored and unrestored river channels

k_baber

Ryan Barnes

Ph.D. Ecology & Environmental Sciences

Advisor: Perry Miller

Research Area:  

Tommy Bass

Thomas "Tommy" Bass

Ph.D. Ecology & Environmental Sciences

Advisor: Bruce Maxwell
tmbass@montana.edu

Research Area: Considerations of ecological and social interactions in food system development, scale, diversity, management, and vulnerability

k_baber

Laura Berrios-Ortiz

Ph.D. Ecology & Environmental Sciences

Advisor: Fabian Menalled

laura.berriosortiz@student.montana.edu

Research Area: Weed agroecology and management

Photo of Andy Bobst in office

Andrew Bobst

Ph.D. Ecology & Environmental Sciences

Advisor: Rob Payn
albobst@hotmail.com 

Research Area: Using Beaver Mimicry Stream Restoration as manipulative experiments to better understand groundwater/surface-water interactions, and transient water storage in floodplains.

Keenan Brame

Keenan Brame

Ph.D. Ecology & Environmental Sciences

Advisors: Tim McDermott & Anne Camper
kbrame3@gmail.com

Research Area: Freshwater quality on the Little Bighorn River involving microbial pathogens, their mode of transport through a freshwater system and their anticipated impacts on water quality due to climate change projections.

blank

Peter Bugoni

M.S. Land Resources & Environmental Sciences

Advisor: Jane Mangold
peterbugoni@gmail.com

Research Area: Renovating Monocultures of Exotic Cool-Season Grass Seedings to Diverse Multifunctional Ecosystems

Tyler Boyd

Tyler Boyd

M.S. Land Resources & Environmental Sciences

Advisor: Tony Hartshorn

tylerboyd19@aol.com 

Research Area: Soil health indicators on rangelands in Montana

Madisan Chavez

Madisan Chavez

M.S. Land Resources & Environmental Sciences

Advisor: Stephanie Ewing

madisan.chavez@student.montana.edu 

Research Area: Researching abandoned waste disposal sites on the Crow reservation to determine if PFAS leach into the ground water and/or surface water.

Shea Crowther

Shea Crowther

M.S. Entomology

Advisors: Kevin O'Neill & Anthony Slominski
swbcrowther@gmail.com  

Research Area: Investigating The Impact of the Interaction of the Neonicotinoid Pesticide Imidacloprid and Temperature on Post-Winter Alfalfa Leafcutting Bees, Megachile rotundata

Devanshi Desai

Devanshi Desai               

M.S. Land Resources & Environmental Sciences

Advisors: Tim Seipel & Lovreet Shergill

devanshi.desai@student.montana.edu 

Research Area: Weed management with precision herbicide application

k_baber

Het Desai 

Ph.D. Ecology & Environnmental Sciences

Advisors: Fabian Menalled & Lovreet Shergill

het.desai@student.montana.edu

Research Area: Monitoring and management of problematic weeds in Montana cropping systems

Lochlin Ermatinger

Lochlin Ermatinger

M.S. Land Resources & Environmental Sciences

Advisor: David Weaver

Lochlin.ermatinger@gmail.com

Research Area: Using the spectral signature of wheat to detect wheat stem sawfly infestation in growing wheat plants.

Mary Farina

Mary Farina

Ph.D. Ecology & Environmental Sciences

Advisor: Scott Powell
mfarina@whrc.org 

Research Area:  Assessing spatial and temporal variability in Arctic-boreal carbon fluxes using satellite and drone remote sensing. 

LRES logo

Eliza Gillilan

M.S. Land Resources & Environmental Sciences

Advisors: Tony Hartshorn & Bill Kleindl 

Research Area: 

Brett Griesbaum

Brett Griesbaum

Ph.D. Ecology & Environmental Sciences

Advisors: Scott Powell & Paul Nugent

brett.griesbaum@montana.edu

Research Area

My research focuses on Precision Agriculture in irrigation decision support and tracking biomass using remote sensing from both satellite and drone data. I also research potential for precision conservation in Montana cropping systems using satellite data.

LRES logo

Mustabshira Ikram

M.S. Land Resources & Environmental Sciences

Advisors:  Tony Hartshorn & McVey
mustabshiraikram1@gmail.com

Research Area: 

Taylor Kennedy

Taylor Kennedy

M.S. Entomology

Advisor: Bob Peterson

taylorkennedy2@montana.edu 

Research Area: Investigating army cutworm moth numbers, biomass, and calories from radar observation and determining the environmental and biological factors that may influence migratory flight behavior and dynamics.

k_baber

Dipak Khanal

Ph.D. Ecology & Environmental Sciences

Advisor: Bob Peterson

Research Area

Samuel Koeshall

Samuel Koeshall

Ph.D. Ecology & Environmental Sciences

Advisor: Perry Miller
samuel.koeshall@student.montana.edu   

Research Area:  Investigating intra-field variability of field pea protein and greain yeild across Montana cropping systems, quantifying N credits and soil fertility following long-term legume and non-legume crop rotations in semi-arid cropping systems, and other Montana cropping systems research related to pulse crop problems. 

k_baber

Carl Krause

M.S. Land Resources & Environmental Sciences

Advisor: Stephanie Ewing

Research Area:  

 

k_baber

Lauren Kremer

Ph.D. Ecology & Environmental Sciences

Advisor: Tim Covino

Research Area:  

Emma Kubinski

Emma Kubinski

M.S. Land Resources & Environmental Sciences

Advisor: Fabian Menalled

emma.kubinski@student.montana.edu

Research Area: Carrots as a Model for Holistically Increasing Sustainability of Vegetable Production.

C. Larson

Christian Larson

Ph.D. Ecology & Environmental Sciences

Advisors: Lisa Rew & Tim Seipel

christian.larson@montana.edu

Research Area

Sophia Lattes

Sophia Lattes

M.S. Land Resources & Environmental Sciences

Advisor: Fabian Menalled & Mac Burgess

sophia.lattes@student.montana.edu 

Research Area: Integrated weed management for Montana organic vegetable farms.

LRES logo

Ryan Malmquist

M.S. Land Resources & Environmental Sciences

Advisor: Jack Brookshire

Research Area:  

Ian McRyhew poses with a hawk

Ian McRyhew

M.S. Land Rehabilitation

Advisor: Jane Mangold

ianmcryhew3@gmail.com

Research Area: Grassland restoration and pollinator conservation on Tribal lands degraded by annual invasive grasses.

C.Mitchell

Caitlin Mitchell

Ph.D. Ecology & Environmental Sciences

Advisor: Stephanie Ewing
caitlin.mitchell@student.montana.edu  

Research Area: Investigating the biogeochemical cycle of nutrients through cultivated soils and groundwater-stream systems. 

LRES logo

Winifred Nichols

M.S. Land Resources & Environmental Sciences

Advisor: Bill Inskeep
winifred.nichols@student.montana.edu  

Research Area:  

h_oakland

Hayley Oakland

Ph.D. Ecology & Environmental Sciences

Advisor: Geoff Poole
hayley.oakland@gmail.com 

Research Area:  Ecosystem engineering by net-spinning caddisflies and associated effects on microbial communities, stream metabolism and nutrient cycling

LRES logo

Alyssa Piccolomini

Ph.D. Ecology & Environmental Sciences

Advisor: Bob Peterson

Research Area:  

Jack Poole

Jack Poole

M.S. Land Rehabilitation

Advisor: Stephanie Ewing

jack.poole@student.montana.edu 

Research Area: Investigating electrical resistivity tomography data in relation to aerial and on ground vegetation analyses

Kristen Powell

Kristen Powell

M.S. Land Resources & Environmental Sciences

Advisor: Andrew Felton

Kristen.powell@student.montana.edu

Research Area: Seasonal origins of precipitation used by plants across grasslands

LRES logo

Azin Rashad

M.S. Land Resources & Environmental Sciences

Advisor: Anna Schweiger

Research Area

LRES logo

Elizabeth Reiva

M.S. Land Resources & Environmental Sciences

Advisors: Fabian Menalled & Roland Ebel HHD

elizabeth.reiva@student.montana.edu 

Research Area: Household Biodigesters: A Source of Biofertilizer

LRES logo

Hannah Richardson

Ph.D. Ecology & Environmental Sciences

Advisor: Timothy Covino

Hannah.richardson2@student.montana.edu

Research Area

Madeline Roberts

Madeline Roberts

M.S. Land Resources & Environmental Sciences

Advisor: Timothy Covino

madelineroberts1@montana.edu

Research Area:  Hydrologic and erosional effects of steep-hillslope logging on Monarch Pass, Colorado

Meghan Robinson

Meghan Robinson

M.S. Land Resources & Environmental Sciences

Advisor: Adam Sigler

Research Area:  Data driven irrigation scheduling for reducing deep percolation and runoff and optimizing water and nutrient use efficiency 

Lilly Sencenbaugh

Lilly Sencenbaugh

Ph.D. Ecology & Environmental Science

Advisor: Lisa Rew
lilly.sencenbaugh@student.montana.edu  

Research Area: Effectiveness of traditional and novel management control strategies of Ventenata dubia and Bromus tectorum

Akamjot Singh Brar

Akamjot Singh Brar 

M.S. Land Resources & Environmental Sciences

Advisor: Fabian Menalled

Research Area: Weed Management in Specialty crops

LRES logo

Ford Smith

Ph.D. Ecology & Environmental Science

Advisors: Stephanie Ewing & Eberly

Research Area: 

Jackson Strand

Jackson Strand

M.S. Entomology

Advisors: David Weaver & Tracy Sterling

jackson.strand@student.montana.edu

Research Area: Understanding the importance of smooth brome in promoting a Braconid parasitoid that targets the Wheat Stem Sawfly

LRES logo

Emma Tate

Ph.D. Ecology & Environmental Sciences

Advisor: Stephanie Ewing

tate30@purdue.edu

Research Area

Teichroew, Erin

Erin Teichroew

Ph.D. Ecology & Environmental Sciences

Advisor: Lisa Rew

Erin.teichroew@student.montana.edu

Research Area: Evaluating different management treatments for reducing Bromus tectorum cover and reestablishing native grass species

LRES logo

William Weinberg

Ph.D. Ecology & Environmental Sciences

Advisor: Andrew Felton

William.weinberg@student.montana.edu

Research Area

Madelyne Willis

Madelyne Willis

Ph.D. Ecology & Environmental Sciences

Advisors: Stephanie Ewing & Christine Foreman
madie.willis@gmail.com  

Research Area: Microbial analysis of the Taylor Glacier ice core: investigating the presence and possible impacts of englacial microbial activity through time

Rennie Winkelman

Rennie Winkelman

Ph.D. Ecology & Environmental Sciences

Advisor: Andrew Felton

rennie.winkelman@student.montana.edu 

Research Area: Ecological responses to bison reintroduction on the Northern Great Plains 

LRES logo

Robert Wyatt

Ph.D. Ecology & Environmental Sciences

Advisor: Bob Peterson

bob.wyatt@comcast.net

Research Area: